Sunday, 29 November 2020

Saturday 31st October to Sunday 30th November

Site Sale

The communities of Farnham, Badshot Lea, Aldershot, Tongham and Ash have six months to save Tice's Meadow Nature Reserve - full story here.

 

Co-op

We're delighted to have received £2,464.04 from the Co-op Local Community Fund to pay for a biodiverse roof on our new hide. Thanks to Co-op members for chosing us as their local cause, and raising a massive £15 million for local causes.

 

Instagram

We're now on Instagram. Please follow us to see photos from site and news of the fight to save Tice's Meadow

 

Saturday 31st October

Richard Seargent: Long-eared Owl (in the woods early morning, and seen again over the Meadow in the evening by Gavin Everson).

Dina Burford: Goldcrest.

First site record of Long-eared Owl. 200th bird species recorded on site, and 148th bird species recorded on site this year.

 

Sunday 1st November

S Brownhill: Green Sandpiper

 

Monday 2nd November

Dina Burford: Flat Oysterling (Crepidotus applanatus) & Orange Jellyspot (Dacrymyces stillatus) - new species for site.

(c) Dina Burford - Flat Oysterling

(c) Simon Riddle - Fox

(c) Simon Riddle - Sunset

 

Tuesday 3rd November

Dina Burford: Crystal Brain Fungus (Exidia nucleata) & Peeling Oysterling (Crepidotus mollis) - new species for site. 

(c) Dina Burford - Bark Beetle Galleries

(c) Dina Burford - Crystal Brain Fungus



Wednesday 4th November

 

(c) Dina Burford - Phil Braves the Mud
 

 

Thursday 5th November

No reports.

 

Friday 6th November

(c) Colin Varndell - Sunset over the Meadow

(c) Colin Varndell - Autumnal Colours
 

 

Saturday 7th November

Richard Seargent: 5 Little Egret & Yellow-legged Gull (adult).

S Brownhill: Green Sandpiper.  

(c) Colin Varndell - Great Tit

(c) Colin Varndell - Stonechat

(c) Colin Varndell - Bullfinch

(c) Dina Burford - Stonechat



Sunday 8th November

John Hunt: 2 Green Sandpiper, 2 Snipe, 6+ Redwing, 2 Fieldfare & Ring-necked Parakeet.

Dina Burford: Firecrest.

Mark Elsoffer: 15 Snipe.

13th site record of Ring-necked Parakeet, last reported 10/07/20. 

11th site record of Firecrest, last reported 05/10/20.

(c) John Hunt - Stonechat

(c) Dina Burford - Firecrest

(c) Dina Burford - Snipe


 

Monday 9th November

Dina Burford: Firecrest & Peregrine. 

(c) Dina Burford - Egyptian Goose

(c) Dina Burford - Peregrine



Tuesday 10th November

Dina Burford: Green Sandpiper.

Colin Varndell: Goldcrest.

(c) Colin Varndell - Goldcrest

(c) Colin Varndell - Red Admiral

(c) Jon Hawkins - Rat

(c) Jon Hawkins - Magpie & Rat

 

Wednesday 11th November

No reports.

 

Thursday 12th November

Peter Brown: 2 Green Sandpiper, Snipe, Common Gull & Peregrine. 

Dina Burford: Goldcrest.

Colin Varndell: Chiffchaff.

(c) Dina Burford - Kestrel

(c) Colin Varndell - Great Tit

 

Friday 13th November

Dina Burford: Hart's Tongue Fern (Asplenium scolopendrium) - new species for site.

(c) Dina Burford - Lord Len

(c) Colin Varndell - Dunnock

 

Saturday 14th November

No reports.


Sunday 15th November

Richard Seargent: 20+ Siskin.

Sara Gillingham: Goldcrest.

(c) Dina Burford - Flooded Track

 

Monday 16th November

John Hunt: 56 Lapwing, 14 Teal, 10 Wigeon, 9 Shoveler, 16 Gadwall, 13 Egyptian Geese, 4 Bullfinch, Chiffchaff & 6 Redwing.

(c) John Hunt - Wren
 

 

Tuesday 17th November

Dina Burford: A Slime Mould (Arcyria stipata) - new species for site.

 

Wednesday 18th November

Dina Burford: Snipe.

Laura Hamilton: Tawny Owl (regularly heard calling at night from the estate).

(c) Marley McClelland - Toad

(c) Marley McClelland - Wasp Spider

(c) Marley McClelland - Wood Mouse
 

 

Thursday 19th November

Mark Elsoffer: Green Sandpiper, 8+ Snipe, 86 Lapwing, 20 Fieldfare, 40 Redwing & Peregrine.

We had the pleasure of hosting a wonderful group of children from Farnborough Rambles & Brambles today. It was great to see so many kids connecting with the nature on their doorstep.

(c) Ed Brydon - Farnborough Rambles & Brambles

(c) Ed Brydon - Farnborough Rambles & Brambles

(c) Ed Brydon - Farnborough Rambles & Brambles



Friday 20th November

(c) Dina Burford - Collared Dove

 

 

Saturday 21st November

Richard Seargent: Green Sandpiper.

Mark Elsoffer: 3 Snipe, 82 Lapwing & Common Gull.

(c) Craig Nobbs - Silt Pond

(c) Dina Burford - Chaffinch

(c) Colin Varndell - Canada Geese

(c) Colin Varndell - Common Gull



Sunday 22nd November

John Hunt: Green Sandpiper, 68 Lapwing, 5 Teal, 44 Wigeon, 5 Shoveler, 2 Gadwall, 17 Egyptian Goose, Grey Wagtail, Chiffchaff, 7 Meadow Pipit & 7 Reed Bunting.

Mark Elsoffer: Little Egret & 5 Stonechat. 

Beth Cook: Goldcrest.

(c) Jon Hawkins - Sunlit Hide

(c) Craig Nobbs - Guardian Oaks

(c) Simon Monk - Goldfinches

(c) Harriet Childs - Sunset over the Workings

(c) Beth Cook - Goldcrest

(c) Beth Cook - Long-tailed Tit


 

Monday 23rd November

(c) Colin Varndell - Tufted Duck

 

Tuesday 24th November

Richard Horton: Green Sandpiper & Caspian Gull (3rd winter).

13th site record of Caspian Gull, last recorded 20/10/20. 

(c) Dina Burford - Green Sandpiper

(c) Colin Varndell - Dunnock

 

Wednesday 25th November

No reports.

 

Thursday 26th November

Mark Elsoffer: Snipe, 82 Lapwing, 23 Egyptian Goose, 71 Greylag Goose, 5 Common Gull, 24 Siskin, 2 Goldcrest, Lesser Redpoll & Treecreeper.

Anon: Green Sandpiper.

(c) Colin Varndell - Redwing & Fieldfare



Friday 27th November

(c) Phil Fiddes - Dunnock

(c) Phil Fiddes - Tufted Duck
 
(c) Dina Burford - Kestrel

 

Saturday 28th November

(c) Dina Burford - Grey Heron
 

 

Sunday 29th November

John Hunt: Green Sandpiper, 4 Golden Plover (over), 66 Lapwing, Brent Goose, 2 Common Gull, Siskin & Grey Wagtail.

Richard Seargent: 7 Golden Plover (over, in addition to the above 4), Little Grebe, 19 Fieldfare & 32 Redwing.

Eighth site record of Brent Goose, last recorded 12/05/19. 149th bird species recorded on site this year.

(c) John Hunt - Brent Goose (right)